CERTIFICATES/AWARDS OF APPRECIATION

FROM 1987-2020



In the 1980s, OCTA already was encouraging the chapters to award Certificates of Appreciation to individuals and to institutions helping to promote historic trails.

Trails Head awarded its first Certificate of Appreciation at the 1987 annual meeting, when Barbara Magerl was president. Later the phrase "Award of Appreciation" came to be used, although a few have continued to be labeled "Certificates of Appreciation".

The following likely is an incomplete listing of the Certificates/Awards of Appreciation from 1987 to 2020.

In 1985, the Kansas legislature passed a bill to authorize KDOT to distribute National Park Service-designed Oregon Trail signs for placement at 333 trail crossings of public roads across northeastern Kansas. Missouri also began to work on this type of signage. Within a few years, Trails Head awarded certificates of appreciation to many who had been involved in establishing the infrastructure for this type of signage in both states. The following is a listing of those 1987 recipients.

- Audrey Langworthy, KS State legislator
- Larry Jochims, Kansas Historical Society
- Kansas Dept. of Transportation
- Jean Wise, former Leawood mayor
- Barbara Burgess, historical writer, Topeka
- Carole Roper Park, MO State legislator
- Millie Nesbitt, Independence city council representative
- Bill Bullard, Independence city manager
- Jerry Darter, director of KC Parks Dept.

One source says Trails Head presented numerous certificates of appreciation throughout the year of 1988. The summaries of two 1988 Trails Head treks do tell of the presentation of certificates. On the trek of June 18, 1988, four certificates of appreciation were presented by Ross Marshall as the car caravan moved from trail site to trail site. The four recipients of those certificates on that trek are as follows.

- Blue Valley Community Council, accepted by Cindy Campbell, new sign at BV Baptist Church
- Community of Morse, accepted by John Fifield, promotion of local trail history
- Johnson County, accepted by Supervisor of Roads Phil Yauger, placement of Oregon Trail signs
- City of Gardner, accepted by Mayor Phyllis Thomen, placement of Oregon Trail signs
- Two more certificates of appreciation were presented on the trek of September 10, 1988. The recipients on that fall day are as follows.
- City of Rossville, placement of Oregon Trail signs
- City of St. Marys, placement of Oregon trail signs

Certificate of Appreciation National and Chapter Award

• James Fisher

1996

In 1996, two teachers were presidents of Trails Head and of Missouri River Outfitters of Santa Fe Trails Association. Trails Head President Mary Conrad and MRO President Anne Mallinson encouraged the two chapters to jointly award certificates of appreciation to teachers and to others who were actively involved in promoting trails education. The recipients of these joint certificates of appreciation are listed below.

- Debbie Boyles, Raytown teacher
- Janie Heggam, Raytown teacher
- Carolyn Wren, Raytown teacher Friends of the Mahaffie Farmstead
- Bill Oakley, Olathe teacher
- Don Everhart, Olathe teacher
- Susie Bridson, Olathe junior high librarian
- Marilyn Peterson, Olathe elementary school librarian
- Olathe School District
- Olathe Historical Society City of Olathe
- Marlene Natoli, Olathe Parks & Recreation

2007-2010

2007—Leo Pellant, (unsure if this Trails Head award given), for landowner with visible trail ruts in front yard, near Tecumseh, KS

2008—Eleanor Craig, of Assessible Arts at Kansas State School for the Blind, for promoting historic trails to visually impaired students, including taking students on multi-day treks in vans along Oregon-California trails

2009—Kathy Conway, for her many years as office manager of national OCTA office in Independence, MO

2010—Shawnee Indian Mission Historic Site, for cooperation with Trails Head and other historic trail organizations over many years

2011-2017

2011—Peggy Smith, for decades of researching and promoting historic trails and area history, as a librarian and as a Trails Head member, and in particular for her successful promotion of the name "Lewis and Clark Viaduct" and for raising awareness of Jim Bridger throughout the KC metro area

2012—Eva Allen, for work with Trails Head hosting of OCTA convention in Lawrence and, at that point, for two years as Trails Head vice president and for four years as chapter secretary

2013—Niel Johnson, long-time member of Trails Head and of Friends of National Frontier Trails Museum, for keeping many years of archival records about the Friends & about Trails Head, for his re-enactments of Truman at trail meetings and tours, and for his conducting of interviews for the Trails Head Oral History Project of the late 1990s

2018 June--Kara Friedline, American Heritage Girls leader, for organizing all required activities for each girl to receive a trail badge, including a troop service project of picking up trash along hiking trails and surrounding areas at Lone Elm Park in Olathe

2018 Nov.—Arnold Cole, for many years as chapter officer in various positions, including almost four years as president, partial year as vice president, and eight years as treasurer

2018 Nov.—Aubrey Massoth, from St. John Paul II, for 2018 OCTA calendar winning entry

2018 Nov.—Avery Strong, from St. John Paul II, for 2018 OCTA calendar winning entry

2018 Nov.—Carmen Balderas, from St. John Paul II, for 2018 calendar winning entry

2018 Nov.—Lucy Harrold, from St. John Paul II, for 2018 calendar winning entry

2018 Nov.—Ava Moran, from St. John Paul II, for 2018 calendar winning entry

2019-2020

2019--Dick Nelson, for recently completing six years as a director on OCTA Board, for many years as chair of OCTA national awards, and for many years as a Trails Head officer (five years as president, eight-and-a-half years as vice president, & one year as treasurer)

2020 Jan.—Lucy Harrold, from St. John Paul II, for 2019 OCTA calendar winning entry

2020 Jan.—Mirabelle Sullivan, from St. John Paul II, for 2019 OCTA calendar winning entry